TCFD Think Tank

The climate crisis must be understood by the financial system so that climate risks and opportunities can be priced appropriately. Albeit some action by frontrunners, many market players are slow at realising the significance of the climate crisis for their future commercial success.

The Task Force on Climate-related Financial Disclosures (TCFD), led by industry, has drawn up recommendations for voluntary and consistent disclosure of climate-related information. Globally, the TCFD recommendations are now regarded as key guidelines. Numerous companies have committed themselves to their implementation. However, questions remain on their practical implementation.

In its TCFD think tank, the GSFCG seeks to answer those questions in cooperation with Frankfurt School of Finance & Management, PwC Germany, d-fine and right. based on science. Four workshops with selected practitioners from the financial sector helped to develop an in-depth understanding of the implementation of the TCFD recommendations.

The knowledge gained is now available to the interested public, in particular financial institutions, in the form of short briefs. They are tailored to practical needs show that new structures are needed, that a multi-level approach should be pursued and that expertise needs to be built up in specialist fields such as physical effects of the climate crisis.

Now you need to act:

Please use the short briefs to assess climate-related risks – and opportunities in your portfolio appropriately, which will help you to future-proof your business models. On top, you will make a substantial contribution to global climate action.

The GSFCG is happy to support you on that journey.

TCFD – Emerging new structures

Download Poster PDF

User Guidance on TCFD Recommendations

Download Poster PDF

More from TCFD Think Tank:

In cooperation with:

„In order to stop climate change – the effects of which have long since been noticeable – enormous investments are needed. This is why we are embracing the idea of private capital also being invested according to the principles of sustainability. The Cluster aims at further promoting this movement.”

Hessischer Wirtschaftsminister, Tarek Al-Wazir

TCFD Think Tank

Die Klimakrise muss im Finanzsystem verstanden werden, damit Klimarisiken und -chancen angemessen bepreist werden können. Einige Akteure sind sich der Bedeutung für den wirtschaftlichen Erfolg bereits bewusst, im Mainstream ist dies jedoch noch nicht zu erkennen.

Die Industrie-geführte Task Force on Climate-related Financial Disclosures (TCFD) hat Empfehlungen für die freiwillige und konsistente Offenlegung klimarelevanter Informationen erstellt. Global werden die TCFD Empfehlungen inzwischen als Leitlinie verstanden. Zahlreiche Unternehmen haben sich zu ihrer Umsetzung verpflichtet. Allerdings wirft die praktische Implementierung der Empfehlungen noch Fragen auf.

In seinem TCFD Think Tank sucht das GSFCG Antworten auf diese Fragen, unterstützt von der Frankfurt School of Finance & Management, PwC Deutschland, d-fine und right. based on science. Während vier Workshops mit ausgewählten Praktikern aus der Finanzbranche wurde ein vertieftes Verständnis für die Implementierung der TCFD Empfehlungen erarbeitet.

Die gewonnenen Erkenntnisse werden der interessierten Öffentlichkeit, insbesondere Finanzinstitutionen, in Form von Handreichungen zur Verfügung gestellt. Sie sind auf die Bedürfnisse der Praxis zugeschnitten und zeigen, welche Strukturen geschaffen werden müssen, dass ein mehrstufiger Ansatz zur Implementierung gewählt werden sollte und Fachwissen in bestimmten Themengebieten (z. B. physische Auswirkungen der Klimakrise) von großem Nutzen ist.

Jetzt ist Ihr Handeln gefragt:

Nutzen Sie die Handreichungen, um durch eine angemessene Betrachtung von Klimarisiken und -chancen ihre Geschäftsmodelle zukunftsorientiert und krisensicherer auszurichten. Gleichzeitig leisten Sie dadurch einen wichtigen Beitrag, der Klimakrise zu begegnen. Das GSFCG steht Ihnen auf diesem Weg gerne beratend zur Seite.

TCFD – neue Strukturen schaffen

Download Poster PDF

Anwender-Guidance zu den TCFD Empfehlungen

Download Poster PDF

Mehr vom TCFD Think Tank:

In Zusammenarbeit mit:

„Eine nachhaltige Ausrichtung des Finanzsystems ist unverzichtbar; gleichzeitig bedürfen die Energiewende und der Transformationsprozess unserer Wirtschaft passender Unterstützung durch die Finanzindustrie.“

Hessischer Wirtschaftsminister, Tarek Al-Wazir