Mission

The transformational process towards a green and sustainable economy requires appropriate, innovative and scalable support from the financial industry.

As the global economy is underpinned by complex and interrelated dynamics, it is crucial that financial institutions, investor groups, policy-makers and civil society join forces and cooperate as a network.

The Cluster is an initiative emerging from the fusion of the Accelerating Sustainable Finance Initiative (Deutsche Börse) and the Green Finance Cluster Frankfurt (Hessian Ministry of Economics). The Cluster, launched in April 2018, aims at bundling activities in the field of sustainable finance to achieve greater use of financial market expertise in the area of sustainability. Its primary ambition is to formulate and implement solid approaches to fostering the sustainability of national and international financial markets.

The Green and Sustainable Finance Cluster Germany (Cluster) brings together the activities of various stakeholders, and thus mobilises synergies that shape this transformation process in an efficient and cost-reducing manner.

Green and sustainable finance constitute a core subject of the transformation process towards a sustainable and climate-resilient global economy. Neither the “Sustainable Development Goals” nor the objectives of the “Paris Agreement” could be accomplished without fundamental change within the national and international capital allocations framework. The challenge consists in developing applicable concepts for the implementation of Environment Social and Governance (ESG) criteria in the business models of various financial stakeholders. It would promote the identification and management of sustainability-related risks, enhance competition in a proactive manner, and seize economic opportunities of sustainable development. In this context, the specific structure of actors in Germany, which prevails in medium-sized companies, shall be taken into account.

The Cluster should act as a central contact point for sustainability- and climate-relevant issues of actors in the financial sector and beyond. The Cluster is also expected to reinforce other green and sustainable finance initiatives existing in Germany and in Europe. National initiatives such as the Hub for Sustainable Finance as well as other national, European and international expert groups should also be involved in its activities.

„A sustainable orientation of the financial system is essential; at the same time, the energy transition and the transformation process of our economy require appropriate support from the financial industry.”

Hessian Minister of Economy, Tarek Al-Wazir

Mission

Der Transformationsprozess zu einer „Green and Sustainable Economy“ bedarf passender, innovativer und skalierbarer Unterstützung durch die Finanzindustrie.

Aufgrund komplexer Zusammenhänge globaler wirtschaftlicher Vorgänge ist es erforderlich, innovative Kräfte und Kompetenzen aus Finanzsektor, Anlegerkreisen, politischen Entscheidungsträgern und Zivilgesellschaft netzwerkartig zur Kooperation zu befähigen.

Das GSFC ist ein Zusammenschluss der Accelerating Sustainable Finance Initiative der Deutschen Börse und dem Green Finance Cluster Frankfurt des Hessischen Wirtschaftsministeriums. Die Zielsetzung des im April 2018 erfolgten Zusammenschlusses ist die Bündelung der Aktivitäten im Feld Sustainable Finance, um eine effizientere Nutzung der Finanzmarktexpertise im Bereich Nachhaltigkeit zu erreichen und vor allem die Formulierung und Umsetzung konkreter Handlungsansätze für die Zukunftsfähigkeit nationaler und internationaler Finanzmärkte.

Das GSFCG stellt eine Organisation dar, die Aktivitäten verschiedener Akteure koordiniert, zusammenführt und damit Synergien hebt und hilft, diesen Transformationsprozess effizient und kostensenkend zu gestalten.

„Green and Sustainable Finance“ stellt einen Kernpunkt des Transformationsprozesses zu einem zukunftsfähigen globalen Wirtschaftssystem dar. Weder die Erreichung der „Sustainable Development Goals“ noch die Umsetzung der „Pariser Klimaschutzziele“ sind ohne einen grundlegenden Wandel im Rahmen der Grundstruktur nationaler und internationaler Kapitalallokationen zu realisieren. Vor diesem Hintergrund geht es nun um die Entwicklung anwendungsorientierter Konzepte zur Implementierung nachhaltiger Kriterien in den Geschäftsmodellen der verschiedenen Akteure des Finanzplatzes, um den Risiken der anstehenden Herausforderungen und verschärftem Wettbewerb proaktiv zu begegnen, aber vor allem die wirtschaftlichen Chancen eines solchen Wandels zu erkennen und zu nutzen. Dabei soll auch der spezifischen Akteursstruktur in Deutschland, die in Teilen stärker mittelständisch geprägt ist, Rechnung getragen werden.

Das GSFCG verfolgt ein offenes Konzept. Es soll ein Netzwerk entstehen, in dem Expertise bezüglich Finanz-und Risikofragen gebündelt wird. Das GSFCG soll als zentrale Ansprechstelle für nachhaltigkeits- und klimarelevante Fragen der Akteure innerhalb des Finanzsektors und darüber hinaus dienen. Dadurch sollen eine Stärkung der unterschiedlichen Green und Sustainable-Finance-Initiativen am Finanzplatz Deutschland und in Europa gefördert sowie bereits bestehende Impulse aufgenommen werden. Nationale Initiativen wie das „Hub for Sustainable Finance“ und weitere europäische und internationale Expertengruppen sollen gleichermaßen in die Arbeit eingebunden werden.

„Wenn wir den Klimawandel mit seinen längst spürbaren Folgen stoppen wollen, erfordert dies enorme Investitionen. Deshalb setzen wir darauf, dass auch privates Kapital nachhaltig investiert wird. Das Cluster kann diesen Trend weiter befördern.“

Hessischer Wirtschaftsminister, Tarek Al-Wazir